Leadership Award

The Excellence in STEM Leadership Award

The Ohio STEM Learning Network (OSLN) seeks to highlight excellence in STEM education through the OSLN Excellence in STEM Leadership Award.

Self nominate or nominate a school leader who has inspired you throughout the 2023-2024 school year.

The 2024 award winner will be recognized at the Ohio STEM Innovation Summit on June 4, 2024. Along with being recognized at the Ohio STEM Summit, the winner will be invited to a celebration dinner and offered an opportunity to present at the 2025 statewide summit.

In the spirit of gratitude, the person submitting the nomination for each winner will also be invited to the celebratory dinner.


The applicant must be an Ohio resident with experience innovating STEM education through their leadership, community partnerships, and/or place based initiatives. We are seeking leaders who demonstrate a passion for the advancement of STEM education in Ohio that leads to positive student learning outcomes. Nominees must be current leaders working in the 2023-2024 academic year.

Additional Documentation

Two letters of support. These letters need to be from the following list:

  • One letter should be from a building teacher.
  • One letter could be from:
    • A colleague
    • An industry partner
    • A member of the governing body

Letters should be 500 words or less and give a description of the leader nominee’s leadership qualities, overall vision for STEM education, and ways they foster relationships with community leaders or local industries.


  • Monday, October 23, 2023: Nominations open
  • Monday, February 5, 2024: Nominations close at 11:59p
  • Monday, March 11, 2024: Awardees notified
  • Monday, June 3, 2024: Awards granted and announced with celebration dinner

Past winners

India Wilson

India Wilson headshot

India Wilson is Principal of STEM Middle @ Baldwin Road Junior High in Reynoldsburg, Ohio.


Meg Draeger

Meg Draeger
Meg Draeger is the STEMM Coordinator for Chaminade Julienne Catholic High School in Dayton, Ohio.

Dana Letts

Dana Letts
Dana Letts is the STEM Instructional Specialist K-6 for Chillicothe City Schools.

Melissa Durkin

Melissa Durkin
Melissa Durkin is the Principal of Ranger High-Tech Academy in North Ridgeville, Ohio.

Melissa Drury

OSLN Summit school marked on map
Melissa Drury was the Principal at Summit Road STEM Elementary, recognized as a national exemplar for elementary STEM education by the National Science Foundation.
Scroll to Top